Tags

, , , , , ,

I rarely discuss gay marriage on any platform due to the immense sensitivity of the subject. I have and have had homosexual friends (a lot more than I thought I did now that each is coming out), and I never judged them by their lifestyle nor will I ever. Jesus taught us to love our neighbors, and only He has the authority to judge. Thus, while my Facebook news feed became flooded with statuses on the Supreme Court’s decision to legalize gay marriage nationwide, I refused to put up my own position on the matter. I have over 2,000 friends on the social medium, and anything I wrote about the topic would have created a riot. That being said, as long as I remained on Facebook, I read people’s one-sided opinions all day long.

Likely because I attended a liberal arts college, ninety-nine percent of posts I read praised this verdict that appeared to be inevitable for so long. The hostility against Christians speaking even remotely unenthusiastically about this result felt unfathomably hypocritical to say the least. I read “friends” commenting that a pastor should set himself on fire, a couple should get a divorce, churches should be ashamed, and so on. Meanwhile, the few posts I have read from genuine Christian friends had this same message: we should not judge and love them no matter what. Individuals fighting for gay marriage have always made themselves seem like victims of injustice with no right to voice any opinion, maybe rightly so, whereas according to my years of observation, only supporters declared anything without controversy. My pastor Louie Giglio withdrew from President Barack Obama’s inauguration ceremony in 2012 due to gay rights activists’ uproar on Giglio’s comment on homosexuality from roughly twenty years ago. I have also encountered countless posts and comments from so-called “Christians” belittling, disparaging, and personally attacking ministers against gay marriage and the church as a whole. This, I cannot stand. Read Genesis 19:5, Judges 19:22, Leviticus 18:21-22 and 20:13, Romans 1:26-27, 1 Corinthians 6:9-10, and 1 Timothy 1:8-10, all of which suggest or specifically portray homosexuality as a sin. Without even getting into these passages, God gave the first man a woman, and, not only for the human species, that has been the nature of life since the beginning of time. For those claiming to be Christians who advocate for homosexuality and despise and strike those fighting against, I do not know in what sense I can consider them as Christians. When I temporarily registered for OkCupid, one arbitrary kid who claimed to take God “very seriously” wrote to me, “Fxxx you,” solely because I answered “Yes” to the question “Do you believe homosexuality is a sin?” Another self-proclaimed avid follower of Jesus commented that if anyone opposes gay marriage, they have nothing in common, ridiculously comparing this to the civil rights movement. If these so-called “Christians” only believe what they want to believe and celebrate God only when convenient, are they really followers of Christ?

God is love.

I read a comment from a stranger, stating she would be “extremely disappointed in” her passionate Christian friend if he opposed gay marriage. When someone defended him, she replied, “I expect Christians to love their neighbors. It’s what the Bible says, no?” Why do you expect Christians to be anything when you do not even believe in Jesus yourself or know from where that teaching comes? Recently, I voiced my opinion on ESPN’s decision to award this year’s ESPY’s Arthur Ashe Award for Courage to Bruce Jenner over a nineteen-year-old girl who battled brain cancer while playing basketball for her college and raised $1.5 million for cancer research until she passed away. (Do not forget Sergeant Noah Galloway.) One girl I had not spoken to in ages instantly responded, “… it’s a shame you use your freedom of speech to tear other people down. Jesus told us to love one another. Not judge.” I found this claim entertainingly hypocritical, as she had just judged me and my opinion far more directly, does not even go to church, and most importantly, I was not talking about Jenner’s becoming transgender. I simply mentioned ESPN’s decision and my disagreement, but due to the sensitivity of the topic of transgender, she immediately took the negative route and accused me of “tearing other people down.” So what if I did? What makes so many supporters of gender equality think they have the right to make intolerable remarks about adversaries, but the second a person with an opposite viewpoint expresses even a civil opinion, he or she should be condemned and burn in Hell? Same with marijuana. What makes so many proponents believe they have the right to personally attack opponents, even calling a mother who lost her son to pot addiction a “failed parent,” but the second an opponent says anything, he or she should be berated? Better yet, how do these hostile sides have the guts to act as if they are the ones being mistreated by their opposing sides? I have yet to meet one person against homosexuality who says anything pessimistic about gay people. I know hardly any person who fought for gay marriage and did not viciously criticize the opposite side and Christianity.

No, I do not hate gay people. Like mentioned above, I have homosexual friends. Neither do I have the right to judge their way of living nor they have the right to judge my faith in my Father. I do have a problem with insincere “Christians” twisting the Word of God to whatever fits their cause and bombarding other honest Christians for following His way.

